It’s England v Scotland in the Women’s World Cup


Scotland will play England in the Women’s World Cup.

The draw for the 2019 tournament was made in France on December 8, ending the waiting for the 24 teams who qualified.

Both sides topped their qualification groups and they meet in their opening game in Group D, which also includes Japan and Argentina.

Scotland will also play Japan in Rennes on June 14 and Argentina in Paris five days later. England will play Argentina in Le Havre and Japan in Nice on the same dates.

World Champions USA were favourably treated, drawing Thailand, Chile and Sweden. Canada were also fortunate with the strong Dutch side coming out that hat with New Zealand and Cameroon.

Other than England v Scotland, the highlight of the first round may be the meeting between Brazil and Australia, which will inevitably be billed as Marta v the Matildas.

The teams were separated into six groups of four from Group A to F and they were drawn from four pots, based on their World Ranking.

Full 2019 Womens World Cup Draw

Group A: France, Korea Republic, Norway, Nigeria

Group B: Germany, China PR, Spain, South Africa

Group C: Australia, Italy, Brazil, Jamaica

Group D: England, Scotland, Argentina, Japan

Group E: Canada, Cameroon, New Zealand, Netherlands

Group F: USA, Thailand, Chile, Sweden

Four teams, Chile, Jamaica, Scotland and South Africa will be making their debut in the Women’s World Cup next year.

The Lionesses will face Japan in a rematch of the 2015 Women’s World Cup semi-final. They will also come up against arch rivals Scotland who they thrased 6-0 at the Women’s Euros in 2017.

Top ranked USA will face Sweden who they were in a group with at the 2015 Women’s World Cup.

Hosts France will be confident that they can progress in a group consisting of Korea Republic, Norway and Nigeria.

With the groups announced, excitement for the Women’s World Cup continues to grow as the tournament edges ever closer.


About Author

Comments are closed.