Jon Batham: England squad contains few surprises but is “probably sensible”


The T20 World Cup begins in Dallas on June 1st when hosts USA face local rivals Canada.

England are among those who have already declared their squad but reaction to England’s provisional squad provisional squad for the T20 World Cup set to take place in the USA and West Indies this June has beem muted rather than enthusiastic or negative.

Speaking exclusively to Prost, author, writer and broadcaster Jon Batham reviewed England’s T20 squad selection.

This squad contains few surprises and it is probably sensible to have a nucleus of the team which won the last World Cup 18 months ago.

However, for Buttler to be captain after the shambles of the ODI World Cup defence is far from inspiring.

It is to be hoped Phil Salt will be given the gloves because for Buttler to be captain, wicketkeeper and opener is asking too much of any mortal.

While we’re on the subject of wicketkeepers for Rob Key to state Salt and Bairstow can stake a claim for the wicketkeeping gloves in the summer’s Test through performances in this tournament is simply another slap in the face for Ben Foakes.

England’s wicketkeeper in Tests should not even be up for debate.

The punt on Archer’s fitness feels like one England had to take on a player with real stardust. Fingers crossed it comes off and more importantly Archer comes through unscathed.

The omission of Dawid Malan while widely predicted appears harsh given his record. It also makes no sense to end a player’s international career just months after giving him another central contract.

It’s not as if the sport’s overseers have money to burn. It’s not the first time Malan has been treated shabbily by England’s hierarchy, but he’s not the first to suffer that fate.

Nor I fear will he be the last.

More squads are announced

The full England squad is:

Jos Buttler (Lancashire, capt), Moeen Ali (Warwickshire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Harry Brook (Yorkshire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire), Tom Hartley (Lancashire), Will Jacks (Surrey), Chris Jordan (Surrey), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Phil Salt (Lancashire), Reece Topley (Surrey), Mark Wood (Durham).

[India announce T20 squad]

Australia have also announced their squad and it contains no shortage of experience.

Captained by Mitchell Marsh, there are many familar names with no shortage of experience such as Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and David Warner.

The full Australia squad is:

Mitchell Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Other notable squad announcements:

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Ishaq, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan (c), Nangyal Kharoti, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad Malik.
Reserves: Sediq Atal, Hazratullah Zazai, Saleem Safi

Nepal: Rohit Paudel (c), Aasif Sheikh, Anil Kumar Sah, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Lalit Rajbanshi, Karan KC, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Pratis GC, Sundeep Jora, Abinash Bohara, Sagar Dhakal, Kamal Singh Airee

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.
Travelling Reserve: Ben Sears

Oman: Aqib Ilyas (c), Zeeshan Maqsood, Kashyap Prajapati, Pratik Athavale (wk), Ayaan Khan, Shoaib Khan, Mohammad Nadeem, Naseem Khushi (wk), Mehran Khan, Bilal Khan, Rafiullah, Kaleemullah, Fayyaz Butt, Shakeel Ahmad. Reserves: Jatinder Singh, Samay Shrivastava, Sufyan Mehmood, Jay Odedra

South Africa: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs

Middlesex CCC – The Championship Years by Jon Batham and Ben Kosky is available at

The book covers Championship winning sides from the 1970s, before and after, containing interviews with many of the key players from those successful sides.

Follow us on Twitter @ProstInt


About Author

Comments are closed.