England squad announced for final Euro 2020 qualifiers


Gareth Southgate has named his squad for the final two matches of England’s Euro 2020 qualifying campaign.

The England manager has picked an unusually large group of 27 players, citing several injury doubts as the reason.

Everton’s Michael Keane is the only player to be omitted from the October selection after an unconvincing display in the loss to Czech Republic. Keane has also lost his place in Everton’s starting 11.

He is replaced by former Toffee John Stones, who was injured during the last international break. Stones returned against Crystal Palace on 19th October and has started Manchester City’s last two Premier League matches.

Related image

John Stones returns to England’s squad after being injured for the last selection – Photo: Getty Images

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain has been in fine form for Liverpool since his return, scoring four times in as many games. This form is enough to earn him a return to the squad alongside Callum Hudson-Odoi, who is also brought in.

There were doubts over whether James Maddison would receive a call-up after being pictured in a casino having pulled out of the last squad with illness. However, the midfielder has made the cut. He will be hoping this selection is third time lucky; despite being picked for the two previous squads, Maddison is yet to step on to the pitch for his country.

Like the Leicester man, Fabian Delph dropped out of October’s squad, but is back in this time.

One notable absentee is Premier League top scorer Jamie Vardy. While the 32-year-old did step aside from international duty after last year’s World Cup, he didn’t shut the door entirely. 

Southgate has spoken on the player, saying that now isn’t the right time for his inclusion but that Vardy is still being considered.

Also out of the equation are Dele Alli, who scored for Tottenham against Everton on Sunday, and Jesse Lingard of Manchester United.

England face Montenegro at Wembley on Thursday 14th November, before travelling to Kosovo three days later.

Just one point from the two fixtures will be enough to secure qualification to next summer’s competition.

Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Tom Heaton (Aston Villa), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Leicester), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Danny Rose (Tottenham), John Stones (Manchester City), Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid)

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Everton), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), James Maddison (Leicester), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Liverpool), Declan Rice (West Ham), Harry Winks (Tottenham)

Forwards: Tammy Abraham (Chelsea), Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Callum Wilson (Bournemouth)


Comments are closed.