England squad revealed ahead of UEFA Nations League finals


England manager Gareth Southgate has named his provisional 27-man squad for this summer’s UEFA Nations League finals.

The Three Lions will face the Netherlands in a semi-final clash on June 6th, with a spot in the tournament’s final three days later up for grabs.

Captain Harry Kane was also included, despite not playing since injuring his ankle in Tottenham’s Champions League quarter-final defeat against Manchester City.

Also included amongst the party were Harry Winks and Nathan Redmond, the latter earning his first international call-up since March 2017.

Fabian Delph, Joe Gomez and Jesse Lingard also returned after missing England’s qualifying fixtures earlier this year.

However, Chelsea midfielder Ruben Loftus-Cheek was a notable absentee after rupturing his Achilles in the London side’s friendly in the US on Wednesday. Loftus-Cheek is expected to be sidelined until the early part of 2020. 

Players will report to St. George’s Park for training at varying times, with some still yet to represent their clubs in the FA Cup, Europa League and Champions League finals.

Boss Southgate confirmed he would name the final 23-man group by May 27th.

Below is the provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke City), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Jordan Pickford (Everton)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Leicester City), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Michael Keane (Everton), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Ross Barkley (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Nathan Redmond (Southampton), Declan Rice (West Ham United), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Harry Winks (Tottenham Hotspur)

Strikers: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Callum Wilson (AFC Bournemouth)


About Author

Comments are closed.