PFA Women’s Super League Team of the Year announced as top three dominate


Arsenal, Manchester City and Chelsea have three players each in the Women’s Super League team of the year with Birmingham’s Aoife Mannion and Sophie Baggaley of Bristol City being the only exceptions.

League leaders Arsenal have three players in the team – top scorer Vivianne Miedema and influential midfielders Lia Walti and Kim Little.

England and Man City captain Steph Houghton alongside counterpart Demi Stokes fill two spots in defence. Nikita Parris, who is challenging Miedema for the Golden Boot, is the other City player in the team.

Chelsea also have three representatives in the form of Ji So-Yun, Hannah Blundell and Erin Cuthbert.

Mannion, Stokes, Blundell and So-yun have been selected in the team for the second successive campaign.

Notable admissions include Arsenal duo Danielle van de Donk and Beth Mead who have scored 16 goals and provided 17 goals between them.

Miedema has been in sensational form this season, scoring 21 goals and providing nine assists. Nikita Parris is her nearest challenger with 18 goals and six assists.

Baggaley has produced several player of the match performances for Bristol City this season while Aoife Mannion has been solid at the back for Birmingham and clinical from the spot when needed.

Cuthbert, Houghton, Miedema, Parris and Ji are also nominated for this season’s PFA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year award.

Baggaley, Cuthbert and Miedema are nominated for the PFA Women Young Player of the Year award.

Winners for both awards will be voted for by Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) members, with the winner announced at London’s Grosvenor House on Sunday, 28 April.


About Author

Comments are closed.