PFA Championship Team of the Year announced


Norwich City and Leeds United dominate in the PFA Championship Team of the Year with three players each being featured in the highly-recognised team award.

Sky Bet Championship leaders Norwich City have Max Aarons, Jamal Lewis and Teemu Pukki representing the Canaries, all three were included in the league’s official Team of the Season last month.

Aarons and Pukki both received accolades from the EFL last month, winning the EFL Young Player of the Season and Championship Player of the Year awards respectively.

Darren Randolph takes position between the sticks having taken 19 clean sheets so far this campaign. A back-four of Aarons and Lewis as full-backs sandwiching Leeds United’s central defenders Liam Cooper and Pontus Jansson.

Pablo Hernandez, Jack Grealish and Oliver Norwood form the midfield trio, with a combined total of 27 assists.

The never-ending excellent form of Billy Sharp, Tammy Abraham and Teemu Pukki have deservedly seen them selected to lead the front-line of the PFA Team of the Year. Having shared a combined 76 goals between the three of them, the trio occupy three of the top four goalscoring tallies for the season thus far proving their clinical nature in-front of goal.

Sheffield United and Aston Villa fans may feel hard done by having just two representatives in the squad but, with such a hotly contested race for promotion through the automatic spots and play-offs, there would have been plenty of options worthy of featuring in each position.

Full team: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Max Aarons (Norwich City), Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Pontus Jansson (Leeds United), Jamal Lewis (Norwich City), Pablo Hernandez (Leeds United), Oliver Norwood (Sheffield United), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Billy Sharp (Sheffield United), Tammy Abraham (Aston Villa), Teemu Pukki (Norwich City)


About Author

When not busy covering local news for EssexLive, Matt Lee can be found in the press box at Portman Road covering Ipswich Town's return to the Championship and push for the Premier League.

Comments are closed.