Chelsea duo included as Gareth Southgate names his England squad


Gareth Southgate has confirmed his 26-man squad for the upcoming European Qualifiers against the Czech Republic and Bulgaria.

Chelsea pair Tammy Abraham and Fikayo Tomori are the fresh faces introduced to the side whilst Tottenham’s Dele Alli is the notable absentee.

The Spurs man has struggled with form since returning from an hamstring injury, only making four appearances this season.

Meanwhile, Abraham is recalled to the squad for the first time in nearly two years after an impressive beginning to the campaign. The 22-year-old made his debut against Germany under Gareth Southgate in November 2017.

Fikyo Tomori is one of five centre-backs called up to the side by the England boss Southgate. The 21-year-old captained Canada U20’s to a 2-1 victory against England in March 2016, but opted to switch alliances three months later. It will be the Chelsea graduate’s first appearance in the squad.

England squad list in full:

Goalkeepers: Tom Heaton (Aston Villa), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Leicester), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Michael Keane (Everton), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Danny Rose (Tottenham), Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea) Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid)

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Everton), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), James Maddison (Leicester), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Declan Rice (West Ham), Harry Winks (Tottenham)

Forwards: Tammy Abraham (Chelsea) Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Callum Wilson (Bournemouth)


About Author

Football, Boxing and Cricket correspondent from Hampshire, covering southern sport. Editor and Head of Boxing at Prost International. Accreditated EFL & EPL journalist.

Comments are closed.