Champions look to bounce back against Leopards


St Helens travel to Leigh Sports Village on Friday night as they look to return to winning ways following their recent home defeat to Leeds Rhinos.

Leigh however come into the game off the back of their first win of the campaign and their first since their recognisable rebranding as they picked up a late victory at Craven Park against Hull KR.

A 79th minute try from Josh Charnley proved the difference in Hull as the Leopards ran out 30-25 winners for their first two points of the year.

But, they’ll have to be on top form once again if they’re to make it back-to-back victories against the fourth-straight but suspension hampered champions.

The Saints will be without Sione Mata’utia, Curtis Sironen, and Konrad Hurrell due to the match suspensions they picked up in the Leeds loss. The champs are however boosted by the return of skipper James Roby along with prop forward Agnatius Paasi.

In addition to replace the suspended trio, Saints welcome outside back Wesley Bruines into the squad for the first time since joining in the off-season after he scored a hat-trick in a reserves victory over Newcastle Thunder last weekend.

It’s also worth noting a huge addition to Friday’s performance is the Saints following which is against travelling in impressive numbers as over 2000 St Helens will be heard loud and proud on Friday night.

As for Leigh Leopards, they’re without Ben Reynolds who has been hit with a two games ban after receiving a Grade D charge for ‘dangerous contact’ in the victory over Hull KR. Reynold is replaced by Tom Nisbet which is the only changed from their previously named squad.

But with an exciting night at the LSV in store, there’s plenty of anticipation as to whether Saints will get back to winning ways or if the Leopards can really kick start their season and pull of a remarkable underdog win.

21-Man Squads in full:

Leigh Leopards:

1 Zak Hardaker, 2 Tom Briscoe, 3 Ed Chamberlain, 4 Ricky Leutele, 5 Josh Charnley, 6 Joe Mellor, 7 Lachlan Lam, 8 Tom Amone, 9 Edwin Ipape, 10 Robbie Mulhern, 11 Joe Wardle, 12 Jack Hughes, 13 John Asiata, 14 Ben Nakubuwai, 17 Gareth O’Brien, 18 Matt Davis, 22 Jacob Gannon, 23 Tom Nisbet, 24 Kai O’Donnell, 27 Ava Seumanufagai, 28 Joe Shorrocks.

St Helens:

 1 Jack Welsby, 2 Tommy Makinson, 4 Mark Percival, 5 Jon Bennison, 6 Jonny Lomax, 7 Lewis Dodd, 8 Alex Walmsley, 9 James Roby, 10 Matty Lees, 13 Morgan Knowles, 14 Joey Lussick, 15 Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, 17 Agnatius Paasi, 18 Jake Wingfield, 19 James Bell, 20 Dan Norman, 21 Ben Davies ,22 Sam Royle, 24 Lewis Baxter, 25 Tee Ritson, 34 Wesley Bruines.

Follow us on Twitter @ProstInt


About Author

Comments are closed.