Scotland announce World Cup squad


Scotland players in their T20 World Cup kit
Photo: Cricket Scotland

Scotland have unveiled the names of the men who will represent them at the T20 World Cup.

They are drawn against England, Namibia, Oman and Australia with the Auld Enemy being their first opponent in Barbados on June 4th.

Their squad is:

Richie Berrington (c), Matthew Cross, Brad Currie, Chris Greaves, Oli Hairs, Jack Jarvis, Michael Jones, Michael Leask, Brandon McMullen, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Charlie Tear, Mark Watt, Brad Wheal

Notable is the inclusion of Michael Jones and fast bowler Brad Wheal who were not involved in the warm up games in the Netherlands but have been selected for the actual tournament.

Head coach Doug Watson told the ICC Website:

“To have Michael Jones and Brad Wheal available, their experience from previous T20 World Cups is crucial for the group.

“I’m looking forward to meeting them both, getting to know them and seeing their skills up close. The bulk of the squad have been together for a while now and did a fantastic job last summer at both the 50-over Qualifier and the T20 Qualifier.

“It’s nice to have a bit of continuity along the way, although they haven’t played a lot of cricket since. Hopefully we can see the same level from these players, if not higher, when we get to the Caribbean.”

In their warm up games, the Scots split two games against the Dutch while one match with Ireland was rained off and they lost the last warm-up yesterday by five wickets.

Their next fixture will be against the English at the Kensington Oval, Bridgetown on June 4.

Elsewhere Pakistan are placed in Group A with India, Ireland, Canada and co-hosts USA have also unveiled their squads. Pakistan play their first game against USA on 6 June in Dallas.

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan

The Americans open the tournament in Dallas on June 1 against local rivals Canada. Their squad is:

Monank Patel (c), Aaron Jones, Andries Gous, Corey Anderson, Ali Khan, Harmeet Singh, Jessy Singh, Milind Kumar, Nisarg Patel, Nitish Kumar, Noshtush Kenjige, Saurabh Nethralvakar, Shadley Van Schalkwyk, Steven Taylor, Shayan Jahangir. Reserve Players: Gajanand Singh, Juanoy Drysdale, Yasir Mohammad.

Prost International will be at the World Cup including the opening game between the USA and Canada in Dallas, and the big Scotland v England game in Barbados.

Follow us for our coverage on Twitter @ProstInt


About Author

Comments are closed.