Surrey look to open their Blast campaign with home victory over Glamorgan


Surrey kick of their 2022 Vitality Blast campaign with their opening match against Glamorgan in the South Group at the Oval on Friday evening.

The South London based side are one of the favourites for the Blast and as always will be backed by a large and very vociferous set of supporters under the Friday lights.

Surrey are always very well supported and will look to start the campaign with a victory against the Welsh side.

The hosts missed out narrowly last season at the knockout stage via a net run rate difference of only 0.05.

England opener Jason Roy is set to return to cricket in this opener after missing the IPL to take a break from the sport.

West Indian Sunil Narine has been named in the side along with Sam Curran and Ollie Pope.

Chris Jordan returns to the Kia Oval, where he Came through the academy, and will skipper the side.

After picking up the lowest number of wins and fewest points of any side in the 2021 Blast, Glamorgan got their 2022 campaign off to a winning start against Sussex Sharks at Hove on Thursday evening.

Fast bowler Michael Hogan set up the victory with 3-26 from his four overs after Glamorgan had won the toss and elected to field.

Sam Northeast, who has started the season in fine form with the red ball version of the game, finished unbeaten on 63 on his white ball debut for the club along with the excellent Marnus Labuschagne, who hit 41 off 30 balls as the visitors recorded a rare win at Hove by seven wickets with seven balls remaining.


Surrey have named a 14 man squad for the visit of Glamorgan

Chris Jordan (C)
Gus Atkinson
Rory Burns
Jordan Clark
Sam Curran
Laurie Evans
Will Jacks
Dan Moriarty
Sunil Narine
Jamie Overton
Ollie Pope
Jason Roy
Jamie Smith
Reece Topley
Dan Worrall

Glamorgan will choose from a 14-man squad for the trip to the Kia Oval

David Lloyd

Sam Northeast

Marnus Labuschagne

Kiran Carlson

Chris Cooke

Joe Cooke

Dan Douthwaite

Michael Neser

James Weighell

Prem Sisodiya

Michael Hogan

James Harris

Adam Salter

Colin Ingram

Follow us on Twitter @ProstInt






About Author

Comments are closed.