PFA Premier League Team of the Year announced as Manchester City and Liverpool dominate


Paul Pogba is the only inclusion in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year not from the two title challengers, Liverpool and Manchester City.

The United midfielder beat out competition from the likes of Eden Hazard and Mohamed Salah to make the eleven, the French midfielder provoking plenty of debate on his inclusion.

Pep Guardiola’s City make up six of the eleven spaces in the squad as they look to regain the Premier League crown.

Only Aguero remains from the 2018 edition of the team, while the other players from his side honoured included goalkeeper Ederson, centre-back Aymeric Laporte, midfielder Fernandinho and wingers Raheem Sterling and Bernardo Silva.

The final four players came from Jurgen Klopp’s Liverpool as three defenders Andrew Robertson, Trent-Alexander Arnold and Virgil van Dijk made up the squad alongside Reds marksman Sadio Mane.

In a season which has undoubtedly been his best, Sterling has scored 17 whilst also assisting ten. Despite this, the Englishman makes it into the PFA team for the first time since making his Premier League debut for Liverpool back in the 2011-2012 season.

The attacking three from the team; Aguero, Mane and Sterling are all up the PFA Players’ Player award as is Silva, van Dijk and Hazard. Liverpool and Netherlands defender Virgil van Dijk is favourite for the award having enjoyed a stellar first full season at Anfield which has seen the Reds command the tightest defence in the league.

The winner of that award will be voted for by Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) members, with the winner announced at London’s Grosvenor House on Sunday, 28 April.

PFA 2018/19 Premier League Team of the Year:

Ederson – Manchester City
Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool
Virgil van Dijk – Liverpool
Aymeric Laporte – Manchester City
Andrew Robertson – Liverpool
Paul Pogba – Manchester United
Bernardo Silva – Manchester City
Fernandinho – Manchester City
Sergio Aguero – Manchester City
Raheem Sterling – Manchester City
Sadio Mane – Liverpool



About Author

News writer for Prost International, I get out to games but mainly cover EFL and women's football. Found here:

Comments are closed.