Netherlands in all European Final after Beating Uruguay 3-2


The Netherlands will play in the World Cup final after beating Uruguay 3-2 in Cape Town. Goals from Gio van Bronckhorst, Wesley Sneijder and Arjen Robben overcame efforts from Diego Forlan and Maximiliano Perreira.

The match was not as close as 3-2 suggests with Uruguay’s second goal coming at the end of the game when the Dutch relaxed too early.

Full Report: Netherlands in World Cup Final

Uruguay: 1-Fernando Muslera; 3-Diego Godin, 6-Mauricio Victorino, 5-Walter Gargano, 16-Maximiliano Pereira, 22-Martin Caceres, 15-Diego Perez, 11-Alvaro Pereira, 17-Egidio Arevalo, 7-Edinson Cavani, 10-Diego Forlan.

Netherlands: 1-Maarten Stekelenburg; 12-Khalid Boulahrouz, 3-John Heitinga, 4-Joris Mathijsen, 5-Giovanni van Bronckhorst; 7-Dirk Kuyt, 6-Mark van Bommel, 10-Wesley Sneijder, 14-Demy de Zeeuw, 11-Arjen Robben; 9-Robin van Persie.

Referee: Ravshan Irmatov (Uzbekistan)


About Author

Comments are closed.